I must wonder

A short excerpt from Obama’s Inauguration speech …

On this day, we come to proclaim an end to the petty grievances and false promises, the recriminations and worn out dogmas, that for far too long have strangled our politics.

We remain a young nation, but in the words of Scripture, the time has come to set aside childish things.

I find that an interesting arrangement of words.

“End petty grievances” … “set aside childish things”

And I have to wonder …

Let’s face it — the country is in pretty bad shape these days. There’s no arguing that statement.

Something that has been argued though, is where to lay the blame. The Democrats are happily blaming the Bush administration, since they have been in the White House for 8 years, however if you listen to the conservatives, they can find a way to place this all at the hands of the Democrats. And, as I’ve said before, I think there is quite enough blame to go around.

But I have to wonder if what Obama is saying is something that I, as a parent, have said and that I’m sure many other parents have said.

I don’t care WHO started it.

Yep — at this point does it really MATTER what the exact sequences of events was that led us to this point — let’s get the he11 out.

I have to wonder if somehow it’s going to be interesting having a President that can look at politicians and look at grievances and look at arguments and see it, not from the point of view of a lawyer or a diplomat, or a politician, but see it from the point of view of a parent of young children.

I don’t care WHO started it, settle it or go to your rooms.

It’ll be a fun 4 (or 8) years.

4 responses to “I must wonder

  1. Perhaps term limits is a good start. Get the career politians out of there!

  2. I have to say, I HOPE that is what he meant. As a fellow parent I’ve certainly said those exact words, and meant them. Even at my work, where the issues at hand are far less serious than those facing our new president and our country, we reach a point where we have to say some version of, “OK, this is the situation. Now, how are we going to fix it?” without placing any blame.

    I have to think the Obama’s are exhausted right now and could probably use a good night’s sleep instead of a night of entertainment!

  3. Oohhh, I like Calvin’s idea–and let’s cut the salary once they leave office!!! Go out and get a real job buddy! 🙂 That should help the economy!

  4. There are many countries in pretty bad shape. I’m not convinced all the problems have been caused by the politicians – new or old. I think the global community has some collective responsibility. And you’re right – hashing out who did what is pointless. How we can fix it now will be what makes the real news. Let’s remain hopeful that President Obama can find the support he needs to overcome the obstacles that he will face.

Leave a Reply

