Sometimes I feel unsmart

Today’s quote (and inspiration for the below video)

“Black notes, white notes, and you need to play the two to make harmony folks!”
Spike Milligan

Sometimes I feel like I lack intelligence. Or maybe I’m not politically savvy. Sometimes I look at think and say to myself, “Self, I just don’t get it.”

I know that some of my readers are intelligent and/or politically savvy, so I’m asking you, dear readers, to help me make sense of the following. These are (short) excerpts from this article in the Chicago Tribune. I kept what I kept to keep the tone of the article, and to emphasize a couple of points. Note the things that are in bold and italic.

To many white voters, race still matters
Rural Kentucky points up a difficult reality for Barack Obama

By Rex W. Huppke

Tribune correspondent

May 20, 2008

MUNFORDVILLE, Ky. — Mike Rife is white, a semiretired factory worker with a high school education and a 2-foot-square sign on his lawn that makes friends and neighbors flip him the finger as they drive by.

The sign reads: “Obama for President.”

“They won’t vote for a black man,” Rife said of the people he has lived around all his 57 years. “That’s all there is to it. They just can’t bring themselves to do it.”
The Munfordvilles of America — and there are many—present a troubling reality for Obama’s campaign, as his lopsided loss in neighboring West Virginia showed. These are the places where lofty talk of transcending race is dragged to earth by a weighty reality that has nothing to do with Obama’s position on the federal gas tax, Clinton’s tenacity on the campaign trail or even the off-putting rants of Rev. Jeremiah Wright Jr.
Anyone thinking a black politician could come onto the national stage and simply win these Kentuckians over is being naive, residents say. And it’s not, as some outsiders might believe, because the town’s voters are ignorant.

That divide has provided fertile ground for Obama conspiracy theories. Residents opposed to Obama seem inclined to latch onto false rumors about the candidate or negative exaggerations about his views.

“I believe that he’s a Muslim,” said Susan Horton, 56 and white. She leaves her living room whenever Obama comes on the television. “I think that if he gets into office, there’s going to be another bombing.”

“He’s not patriotic,” said Brandy Trulock, a 21-year-old mother of two. “If you can’t salute the American flag, I don’t think you should be allowed to run for president.”

He’s all Democrat, all Clinton and, if Obama wins the nomination, all for Republican John McCain. He doesn’t trust Obama, has serious questions about the Muslim rumors and truly believes a black man will not survive long as president of the United States.

Copyright © 2008, Chicago Tribune

The article states that the towns voter’s are not ignorant.

The article goes on to mention Rev. Wright, and mention there are people in the town that believe that Barack Obama is Muslim.

Sorry — but you can’t say that people are not ignorant, and then state that these non ignorant people believe that Obama is Muslim.  Trinty UCC is a *CHRISTIAN* church — not a Muslim church.

So please, my intelligent, politically savvy friends, tell me how anyone who catches a sound bite doesn’t know that Obama is Christian.

5 responses to “Sometimes I feel unsmart

  1. It is my humble opinion that the muslim accusation is used as an excuse not to admit racism. Seems awfully contradictory to be mentioning ‘muslim’ and ‘Jeremiah Wright’ in the same sentence and not quite get that Obama is NOT a muslim.

    There are racists and sexists out there, thankfully I believe this election cycle has shown that they no longer dominate the voting public.

  2. I agree with TPGoddess. There are many racists in this country. It is a sad fact of life. Those people are not likely to admit the real reason for their decisions. It is easier to pick another reason, even if it is not factual. (I find it odd that it these people find it acceptable to declare a religious bias as an excuse for their racial bias. They are both forms of discrimination.)

    In a close race, the racists need not “dominate the voting public” to change the result. The November vote will be a very interesting.

    I find it interesting also, that the debate on racism is focused on the white vote. It is reported less often that the black vote is significantly in favor of Obama. While I trust that a percentage of those polled are voting for the candidate and his positions, many others are not for Hillary because she is not the black candidate. Is not that racism too?

  3. Well, I don’t know anything about politics, but I would like to say that I totally enjoyed the music video! Paul and Stevie are two of my all-time favorite musicians.

    I thought it was sort of funny how Paul would sometimes point to Stevie or nod toward him, as if to cue him when it was hit turn to sing. Didn’t anybody tell Paul that Stevie is blind, so he has no idea when Paul is pointing or nodding?

  4. Heidi,

    From what I understand, the schedules that Sir Paul and Stevie had made the video have to be filmed individually anyway – so there was no Stevie for Paul to be nodding at or pointing to :^).

    Calvin,

    ALL things being equal (if I had a chart and gave points too all the various differences in policy and voting records and even ability to speechify) I’d say that for me, a straw that (in this election, either Dem primary or general election) would be geography. Truly if the balance were absolutely even I’d probably end up voting for Obama because he’s “from” Illinois.

    It’s a personal bias — I’d like the “local” guy (or gal) to do good, and I think having “local” people in positions of power lends something to my city and/or state (even if it’s just bragging rights I suppose).

    So, right or wrong, we all have our personal biases. (Of course, I also realize that bragging rights for the “Senator from Illinois” being the President is not as important as the war and the economy and the environment and education).

    (Now, I know that we can argue the Hilary is “from” Illinois since she was born here, and Obama isn’t “from” Illinois since he wasn’t born here — but as adults Hil has spent most of her time not here, and Obama has spent most of his time here so from a DEM prospective I consider Obama my local candidate)

  5. I thought Stevie looked sort of photoshopped. They would have done a much better job with today’s techonology. Still … whoever the director was who told Paul to point and nod should have been shot! That was a cruel joke!

Leave a Reply

