Something to keep in mind the 3rd Sunday of next month.

Once a month I run the laptop at my church’s contemporary worship service. This laptop is rather obsolete (it WAS rather obsolete the day it was purchased but that’s the way it is when things are purchased by cost and not by needs).

Anyway, I’ve been known to comment about the bulk of this item. Especially since I have to haul it around once a month. But then today I ran across the following quotation — and realized that, well, maybe I don’t really have it so bad.

Where a calculator on the ENIAC is equipped with 18,000 vacuum tubes and weighs 30 tons, computers in the future may have only 1,000 vaccuum tubes and perhaps weigh 1.5 tons.
Popular Mechanics, March 1949

Something tells me, it wouldn’t fit on the passenger seat of the minivan.

Leave a Reply

