A silk purse

There’s an old saying “you can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.”  Well, I came close on Sunday night (or at least polyamide and lurex).  I went to the annual meeting for my church.  I don’t know if anyone has ever gone to an annual meeting that was anything less than deadly dull, and this was not the exception that proves the rule.  The meeting ended after over 2-1/2 hours, and I talked to a few people and left after almost 3 hours.

Most people were (rightfully so) dragging themselves out at 10 p.m. being rather glad to be heading home.  Yours truly, however, was almost giddy and practically skipping to the minivan.

After the meeting a few people commented that I was the one person that had “gotten something out of the meeting” and I, in fact, had.  I had the foresight to bring my current knitting project, a scarf that I am making for niece#3 for Christmas.  As I was telling people about how I’d gotten quite a few rows on my scarf done and how it was for my niece, I remembered that I hadn’t heard from niece#3 lately – which is not unusual as she’s a college student and I’m her crazy aunt – but I’d been waiting to hear from her as I’d asked her to babysit for Spouse and I when we go next week to see

in Chicago.  So while that was on my mind I also happened to see one of my adult friends that I know has on occasion been roped into babysitting (we usually think of high school kids when looking for sitters, and forget to look “outside the box”) so I asked him if he was available if I didn’t hear from Niece#3.

SOOOOOOOOOO not only did I get a bunch of knitting done, but I also found a backup sitter.  All in all, not a complete waste of 3 hours.

Leave a Reply

