COLOR ME IMPRESSED

Christmas is my winter holiday of choice, I grew up Catholic and now I’m “public” (a Protestant — the term would make sense if you grew up in Chicago – I’m not sure if it makes sense anywhere else in the world).

I enjoy listening to Christmas music, but I do not enjoy listening to the Top 40 over and over and over for a month. Luckily a friend pointed out an area Christian station that I don’t normally listen to during the year, but has a good variety of Christmas music.

So, today (more on today in another blog post — it was a GOOD day) I was sitting in my car and listening to music and I’d heard a “new” (to me) song. It was actually first recorded in 2002 (so when it comes to Christmas songs if it’s 5 years old it’s really fairly new).

Every other year (in reality, we’re on the biennial schedule for holiday cards) when I send out our holiday cards, I typically put a short verse from a song on there (and if you follow it, you can get a good idea about my general leanings and world view — no surprise there).

THIS year due to the design we’re using I have a little extra space on my letter so I was going to do a “Don’t forget the Lyrics, The Jeopardy Version” in which I’ll be putting a line from a song and letting people try to figure out where it came from (and I’m a big fan of noticing the second line in the 3rd verse from the 5th song on the B side of an album – ask me about obscure things – but not about the top 40). Because of this I’ve been listening more closely. So I rather noticed when a “new” (to me) song came on.

And then I did some looking around, not only because I’m thinking of this for my “signature” on my holiday letter, but also because I was curious. And thanks to the wonders of the Internet and having almost all information at our fingertips I found out a lot.

And the thing that impresses me is that this song was written in 2002 by a (then) 10 year old boy. Now, the chances of me finding out about this boy (or the boy band) is pretty slim. Right now the Jonas Brothers are touring as the opening act for Hannah Montana. We’re not really talking about the music that I’m paying attention to.

If you’d like, you can read here to find out how to get a free copy of this song (if you have RealPlayer).

Joy to the World / A Christmas Prayer
Nicholas Jonas

Every year at Christmas
All I can see
Are pictures of the things I want
Around the tree
But this year’s a little different
I’m not thinking of myself
So my prayer for this Christmas
Is for somebody else

(Chorus)
So I pray…
Joy To the World
Peace for every boy and girl
Hope when life is hard
Light when everything seems dark

God I know you’re listening
And you can hear
The need of every broken heart
And all their tears
I don’t have a lot to offer
Just this one simple prayer
That this Christmas everyone would know
Somebody cares…

(Chorus)
So I pray…
Joy To the World
Peace for every boy and girl
Hope when life is hard
Light when everything seems dark

I pray that every hungry soul
Will be filled and will be warm
That not a single, solitary child
Would suffer harm

And Lord we find their ending
As we take another view
My hope is that this Christmas prayer
Would somehow come true

I pray…
Humanity would rise
And join with me
And together we’ll sing

Joy To the World (To all the world)
Peace (Peace) for every boy and girl (for every boy and girl)
(Talking bout hope) Hope when life is hard (when life is hard)
Light when everything seems dark

I pray that (I pray) every hungry soul
Will be filled and will be warm
(Not a single child) That not a single, solitary child
Would suffer harm

And Lord we find their ending
As we take another view
My hope is that this Christmas prayer
Would somehow come true…

Joy To the World
Peace for every boy and girl

So for all us old curmudgeons (and/or Scrooges) that think that today’s kids are too self absorbed, well there are a few that seem to not be totally self absorbed.

Leave a Reply

