Sign, sign, everywhere a sign Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind

A while back, Bunny Bubblette mentioned in this post about a license plate she had seen, and she asked the question

 What could “HRYCAK” possibly stand for, other than the two words (adjective + noun) that popped into my head?  Is it just me?  Do I have a dirty mind?  And if it does stand for something else, didn’t they realize that “HRYCAK” could look an awful lot like the two words that popped into my head?  I wish I had had the chance to pass the car, because I wanted to look at the driver just to see what he/she looked like.  What were they thinking?

Which brought to mind a sign I have seen around town lately.  PLANNED PARENTHOOD BAD FOR {your town here} Recently, a Planned Parenthood clinic has gone up in a nearby community.  As it happens, this caused quite a bit of controversy.  At this point in time, I’m not going to discuss the pros and cons of Planned Parenthood or abortion, after all there’s still quite a bit of November left, and I might need blog ideas for later in the month gotta keep my options open. 

So let’s just visit the wording of the protest sign.  “Planned Parenthood bad for {your town here}”

Which brings up the question, if “planned parenthood” is BAD, does it then follow that UNplanned Parenthood is GOOD?? Inquiring minds want to know. Because every time I see that sign, that’s the exact thought that pops into my head.  And personally, I don’t care which way I look at it, I really don’t think that UNplanned parenthood is a good thing.  Now, some people have had babies when they weren’t planning on it and it has ended up actually being a good thing.  But as a general rule I think babies are things that people should have, oh say when they want to have babies.  I’m just silly that way.  And if my daughter, say 10 years from now when she’s about 16, somehow ends up pregnant (which she won’t because she’ll be issued a chastity belt when she hits puberty) I really don’t think I’ll be doing the “happy dance.”  I’m just sayin’ 

What really helps with the irony of this phrase is that it has been brought to us by the same people that brought us the term “Pro-Life.”  Because Pro-Life is a GREAT term.  This instantly gives the impression that anyone that is not “Pro-Life” is somehow “against life” which is not a way most people would want to be viewed.  But it must have been a different group in the marketing department the day the term “Pro-Life” came up and the day the sign “Planned Parenthood bad” was developed. 

You’ve got to be really careful what words you put out of your mouth, or in printing, because you can never tell what other people will think or how things will be turned around.  And if you’ve read much of this blog you know exactly how well I follow my own advice.

Whoa-oh-ohSign, sign, everywhere a sign
Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind
Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

And the sign said anybody caught trespassin’ would be shot on sight
So I jumped on the fence and-a yelled at the house, “Hey! What gives you
the right?”
“To put up a fence to keep me out or to keep mother nature in”
“If God was here he’d tell you to your face, Man, you’re some kinda sinner”

Sign, sign, everywhere a sign
Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind
Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

And the sign said, “Everybody welcome. Come in, kneel down and pray”
But when they passed around the plate at the end of it all, I didn’t have a penny to pay
So I got me a pen and a paper and I made up my own little sign
I said, “Thank you, Lord, for thinkin’ ’bout me. I’m alive and doin’ fine.”
Wooo!

4 responses to “Sign, sign, everywhere a sign Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind

  1. Pingback: Here comes the bride, all dressed in Sari « life in the minivan lane

  2. Bad grammar is bad for everyone’s towns.

  3. It is not just the person who wrote the planned parenthood bumper stickers who should be red in the face. It is also each person who voted to go ahead with the message and each person who drives around with the message on their car.

  4. Pingback: Because you searched for it « life in the minivan lane

Leave a Reply

