The century mark.

I’ll tell you a story.  About two or so years ago, one of the women at my church decided that she wanted to learn to knit, so she started the prayer shawl ministry at my church.  Thus the knitting group was born.  Every Monday (and during the summer every Monday AND Tuesday) a group of women sits in the parlor and knits and chats.  Spouse once asked me what we talked about.  Well, basically if you want to know about the “health” of people in the church it’s the place to go, as we often discuss the requests we receive for shawls (I don’t think we’ve ever turned down any requests), so if you want to know about any-ones health, it’s the place to be for news and updates.  I’m one of the semi-regular members, I’m not there every week, but I’m there when I can make it.  The vast majority of the projects that are worked on at knitting group are prayer shawls.  You can use various yarns, various patterns, and various techniques (knitting or crocheting) but the end result remains the same, as in this quote from http://www.shawlministry.com/ 

Shawls … made for centuries universal and embracing, symbolic of an inclusive, unconditionally loving God.  They wrap, enfold, comfort, cover, give solace, mother, hug, shelter, and beautify.  Those who have received these shawls have been uplifted and affirmed as if given wings to fly above their troubles”

Written in 1998 by Janet Bristow, (C) 2007

This past Monday was a big day at “knitting group” as we have finished shawl number

100.

That’s right, 100 people (well, about 95, we have a few in stock pile, but the stockpile unfortunately never grows very large) related to my church are wrapped in the warmth, comfort, and prayers from a group of caring, loving women.  And that doesn’t count the other shawls from the other knitting groups all around the world.

Why did Ramblingmom start hanging around this group?  Well, I’ve found lately that I don’t like sitting around doing nothing.  I used to be that way (always doing something) but for the past 11 years (hmmm 11 years, and how old is Chip??) I seemed to lose that trait, now I have it back, I have no idea why it came back now.  Also, I’ve seen a few of my friends fight battles with health (mostly cancer) and I wish I could have the skill to make shawls for them, so they would know that I want to wrap them in love and warmth and prayers.  Now I’m really close to completing my first shawl (YIPPIE) and then I hope to have at least a small stockpile of my own (that I’d like to hope I’ll never use, but we all know how life is).   So now 100 shawls have been completed, and after each shawl is completed whatever women are present that day get around and all touch the shawl, there are many prayers for blessing shawls (you can look at the shawl ministry website for a few) but I think about 95 of the shawls have been blessed with this. 

Prayer Of Blessing (blessing for a completed shawl)

 © 2007 All rights reserved.

By: Janet Bristow – 2000

  www.shawlministry.com

May God’s grace be upon this shawl…
warming, comforting, enfolding and embracing.
May this mantle be a safe haven… a sacred place of security and well-being…
sustaining and embracing in good times as well as difficult ones.
May the one who receives this shawl be cradled in hope, kept in joy, graced with peace,
and wrapped in love.
Blessed Be!

This past Monday we even used that for a hat — changing a few of the words — for a woman in our church that is battling cancer.  The hat is still in my car, I need to drop that off today, along with a pot roast that I may someday put on my recipe blog (when I start a recipe blog).

HI Trees, Flowers, Birds
HI Bunny

How y’all doing today? You inspired me, isn’t that nice to know. And when you’re thinking of doing 30 posts in 30 days, you need all the inspiration you can get.

Anyway, in yesterday’s post over at Torrey Pines Reflections, Trees, Flowers, and Birds, it was noted that there are a lot of knitting blogs out there, and in the comments Bunny asked why?  So now you know.  OKAY OKAY — actually I have another secret.  I’ve seen people knitting really really cool scarfs (scarves?) out of really funky fabric and I’ve thought “man I want one of those” and when I see them selling for like $40-$50 I think “but MAN the yarn is only like $7.”    Anyway, I have a couple of skeins that I’m going to use for scarfs. 

(All y’all are saved from another dead animal story for one more day — NO It’s not fuzzybutt, it’s the final guinea pig – I had no idea what to do with the carrot tips when I was making the pot roast.)

2 responses to “The century mark.

  1. Hey, I never said there was anything *wrong* with it 🙂 I just was not aware of how many people are knitting again. It’s clearly become quite the fad and I think it is totally cool. It’s not for me right now – I used to crochet lot as a child. Every baby born at our church got a handmade receiving blanket from me. I remember when they started making the skeins of multi colored yards and how utterly cool that was to me. I hated tassels though. Still do. Trust me, if I had like, oodles more free time in my day, I would be crocheting again.

  2. Aw, man! I *knew* I was going to accidentally offend somebody when I wrote that! I only open my mouth to change feet.

    Actually, I did used to knit quite a bit when I was younger, and I used to enjoy it. Then I sort of switched to sewing. I haven’t done anything crafty in a long time, due to being preoccupied with the decade from hell. I’m actually thinking about making an effort to start doing some kind of craft again. I need to do something to keep myself out of trouble. I need to keep my fingers busy with something like knitting needles so they’ll be less likely to type out stupid little sarcastic comments on people’s blogs.

Leave a Reply

