Beauty and the Book (book, TV, beauty product meme)

LSM in the Suburbs asks us what are our favorite books, TV shows, and beauty products.

TV — really, none I hardly watch the thing — I happen to catch some of the shows my kids watch and I can tell you I think that Spongebob is this age group’s Teletubbies/Barney (i.e., irritating to the max).  If I’m bored or really need to relax I’ll catch whatever is on on Nick @ Nite. 

Books, here’s my confession time, I don’t know whether I have a problem with processing or I’m lazy but I’d much rather read books with familiar places and characters than to try to picture something completely new.  First and foremost, and I know that only time will tell but I do believe these will stand the test of time, the Harry Potter series.  Now, back before Rowling was born, J.R.R. Tolkien created another universe for me to escape to, and I have escaped to Middle Earth a few times when I needed a vacation from “Planet RM.”  Before that, 99 years ago (which means this was written the last time the Cubs won the World Series, talk about surviving the test of time) an author took a universe she knew, but put some absolutely fascinating characters there.  In 1908 Lucy Maud Montgomery introduced us to Anne Shirley, Marilla Cuthbert, Gilbert Blythe, Diana Barry, and a host of other inhabitants of Prince Edward Island.  Now, if I was to do a list of 50 things I wanted to do before I was 50 (or 60 things or ….) one of those things would be to visit Prince Edward Island. 

As for beauty — I’m gorgeous the way I am I need a bit of help.  I tend to use the Zia Natural line of skin care products. I don’t have an allergic reaction, and they are cruelty free products.  I have read about how some of the animal testing is done for beauty products, and really, my outward appearance is not worth causing pain to an innocent animal.  I am not totally against animal testing for medical reasons when necessary (and it is not always necessary) but I’m willing to put up with a few extra wrinkles if necessary (luckily there are many many skin care products that help me mask some wrinkles without cruelty). 

But hey as one of my favorite philosophers says: Wrinkles only go where the smiles have been, (Jimmy Buffett).  So I guess I’ve had a lot of smiles. And, with my charming children, girlfriends to travel with, and an occasional Guinness with Crem, I think I will continue to produce new wrinkle lines.

And now that I think about it. I do believe that if Anne Shirley were alive today, and lived in the minivan lane, she would find a kindred spirit in the Princess.

Leave a Reply

